According to ADT a shocking 78% of burglars use social media platforms to find their targets.
Don’t become a statistic.
Each day there are millions of people posting on social media about their whereabouts. Most people don’t think or don’t know who can access the information they share with the world.
Depending on what you post on your social media accounts, whether it being Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, burglars can find out vital information such as where you live, who you live with, when you’re likely to be out of the property, and what items you have.
With the use of Google Street View, a “follower” or “friend” on social media can find out where you live and plan the burglary to have an idea of what your home looks like and which entry points look the easiest.
You can help keep your home safe on social media platforms by following these simple steps;
Don’t give too much information away about yourself and your home on social media platforms
Only accept friend requests from people you know, if they are mutual friends with someone, ask to know if they know them
Turn social media location features off by entering settings on your mobile device
Don’t ‘Check In’ at places, this tells people on social media that your home is unoccupied
Monitor who can see your profile, change your settings from ‘friends of friends’ to ‘friends’ that can see what you post
Do not share photos with people online which shows the inside or outside of your home
If you're going away, make people think someone is still at home by making it look lived in
View your profile as it appears to others by clicking on ‘Privacy Check Up’ on your profile
To help find out what information other people can access about you, search your name on Google, followed by the town/city you live in. This way you can change the settings on your social media accounts to help prevent unwanted people accessing information.
If you would like to speak to one our experts, contact us today.
Strictly Necessary Cookies
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
If you disable this cookie, we will not be able to save your preferences. This means that every time you visit this website you will need to enable or disable cookies again.